Infrared Therapy Heat Lamp vs Red Light Therapy: What Each Does
An infrared therapy heat lamp is mainly a heater: a hot filament bulb whose output is mostly near and mid infrared, felt as warmth on the skin. Red light therapy uses narrow bands of red and near-infrared light, usually from LEDs, at stated wavelengths. Both have research behind them, for different jobs. Below: what a heat lamp gives off, how each works, the back pain evidence, burn, fire and eye safety, and how to use a panel or mask instead.
Key takeaways
- A heat lamp is an incandescent bulb used mainly to create heat, commonly 250 W in the R40 reflector shape. Wikipedia
- A Cochrane review of 9 trials with 1,117 people found moderate evidence that heat wraps give "a small short-term reduction in pain and disability" in low back pain. French, 2006
- The American College of Physicians recommends superficial heat for acute or subacute low back pain, based on moderate-quality evidence. Qaseem, 2017
- A meta-analysis of 7 placebo-controlled trials with 394 people found laser light lowered chronic low back pain by 13.57 points on a 100-point scale compared with placebo. Huang, 2015
- ICNIRP says skin held at 44°C takes several hours to suffer irreversible damage, while at a surface temperature of 70°C damage occurs in under a second. ICNIRP
Is an infrared therapy heat lamp the same as red light therapy?
No: a heat lamp is an incandescent bulb made to give heat, while red light therapy delivers chosen red and near-infrared wavelengths, usually from LEDs. The two overlap in the near-infrared band, but they are built for different purposes.
A heat lamp is often 250 W in the R40 reflector shape, with a red filter that cuts visible glare. Wikipedia The American Academy of Dermatology defines red light therapy as "red or near-infrared light", and notes that most home devices use LEDs. AAD, 2024
| Feature | Infrared heat lamp | LED red and near-infrared panel |
|---|---|---|
| Light source | Hot filament behind red glass | Narrow-band LEDs |
| Output | A broad spread, mostly near and mid infrared | Named wavelengths, such as 660 or 850 nm |
| How output is stated | Electrical watts on the bulb | Irradiance at a stated distance |
| Surface | Hot glass | Warm; our panel stays at or below 40°C |
| Distance from skin | 15 to 20 inches or more | 6 to 12 inches for our panel |
| Main cautions | Burns, fire, eyes | Eyes, light-sensitive skin or medicines |
| Evidence base | Superficial heat trials (wraps, pads, blankets) | Red and near-infrared light trials |
Our guide to red light bulbs and panels covers the four kinds of "red bulb" sold today.
What wavelengths does a 250 W red heat lamp bulb give off?
A broad band: a little visible red, a large share of near-infrared, and longer infrared that the skin absorbs at the surface as heat. Only a small slice lands in the red band that light therapy studies use.
- Filament: popular near-infrared heat lamps use filaments of around 2,000 K. Wikipedia
- Red share: by our estimate, a filament at 2,000 to 2,400 K puts about 1 to 2% of its radiation into the 600 to 700 nm band.
- Near-infrared share: between a fifth and a third, with most of the rest as longer infrared.
Our article on infrared vs red light therapy sets out each infrared band and how deep it reaches. A heat lamp's watt rating tells you the power it draws, not how much red or near-infrared light reaches your skin.
How does warmth from a heat lamp differ from light absorbed by cells?
A heat lamp works by warming tissue, which raises skin temperature and local blood flow. Red and near-infrared light therapy works mainly through a photochemical effect from light absorbed in cells, rather than warming.
A 2017 review names cytochrome c oxidase in mitochondria as the main light absorber. Hamblin, 2017
- Next steps: more ATP and nitric oxide, and a brief rise in reactive oxygen species.
- In stressed cells: reactive oxygen species fall and inflammatory markers drop.
- Dose: "low levels of light have stimulating effects", while high levels inhibit.
Much of this work comes from cell and animal studies. Our guide to how much red light therapy is too much explains why more is not always better. An LED panel is not cold: skin should feel warm during a session, never hot.
Does a heat lamp's infrared reach deeper than LED near-infrared?
Not by itself: ICNIRP says IR-A penetrates skin by several millimetres, whatever the source, while IR-C is absorbed at the surface. Warmth reaches deeper tissue mainly through conduction and blood flow.
LED near-infrared at 810 to 850 nm sits inside the same IR-A band, without a large share of longer infrared on the skin surface.
Hospitals use a method between the two: water-filtered infrared-A. A 2016 review describes a 3,000 K halogen bulb whose output passes through water, leaving mostly 780 to 1,400 nm. Hoffmann, 2016
- Filtered: IR-B and IR-C make up under 0.5% of the output, against 50 to 80% in unfiltered radiators.
- Depth: temperature 2 cm down rose 2.7°C, and the warmed zone reached about 5 cm through conduction and blood flow.
The authors write that unfiltered infrared on a wound "would lead to stinging and burning". This is a supervised clinic method. Neither a home lamp nor a light therapy device belongs over an open wound.
Does a heat lamp help lower back pain?
Superficial heat has moderate evidence for a small, short-term easing of new low back pain. The trials used heat wraps, pads and blankets rather than lamps, but a lamp delivers the same kind of surface warmth.
The 2006 Cochrane review pooled 9 trials with 1,117 people. French, 2006
- Heat wrap vs placebo tablet: in 2 trials with 258 people, pain relief was 1.06 points higher at day 5 on a 0 to 5 scale.
- Heated blanket: in 1 trial with 90 people, pain was 32.2 points lower right after use on a 0 to 100 scale.
The American College of Physicians lists superficial heat first among its non-drug choices for acute or subacute low back pain. Qaseem, 2017 A hospital physiotherapy procedure says the lamp "provides heat to large areas of the body without pressure or weight". Connecticut Valley Hospital, 2008
Infrared heat lamp vs red light therapy for back pain: which suits which situation?
They suit different situations: guidelines name superficial heat for new back pain, and light trials focused mainly on pain that has lasted for months. Neither replaces a doctor's assessment when pain follows an injury or comes with warning signs.
The same guideline lists low-level laser therapy among non-drug options for chronic low back pain. A 2015 meta-analysis pooled 7 placebo-controlled trials with 394 people, using 810 to 1,060 nm lasers. Huang, 2015
Pain was 13.57 points lower than placebo on a 100-point scale. Disability scores and range of motion did not differ. Our guide to red light therapy for back pain covers these trials in full.
So the infrared heat lamp vs red light therapy choice comes down to the job: warmth for new stiffness and short-term comfort, light for a regular routine over weeks. See a doctor first if back pain:
- Is new after an injury or has lasted more than a few weeks.
- Travels down a leg or comes with numbness or weakness.
- Changes bladder or bowel control.
What settings did heat and light back pain studies use?
Heat sources were applied for up to 20 or 30 minutes, with a lamp kept 15 to 20 inches away. Light trials used clinic lasers on the skin, 2 to 5 times a week for 2 to 6 weeks.
| Study | Source | Dose or time | Sessions a week | Weeks |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hospital procedure, 2008 | Infrared heat lamp at 15 to 20 in | 10 minutes, building to 20 | Not stated | Not stated |
| Garra 2010 | Heating pad, after ibuprofen | 30 minutes | Single session | One visit |
| Klein and Eek 1990 | 904 nm laser | 1.3 J/cm² | 3 | About 4 |
| Gur 2003 | 904 nm laser | 1 J/cm² | 5 | 4 |
| Djavid 2007 | 810 nm laser | 27 J/cm² | 2 | 6 |
The heating pad trial is Garra, 2010, and the laser rows come from the 2015 meta-analysis. Doses varied widely, so there is no single number to copy. No back pain trial used an LED panel, so our distances come from the panel's manual. To start gently, dim each wavelength, set a shorter timer from 1 minute, or step back to 12 inches.
How far should an infrared heat lamp be from your skin, and for how long?
A hospital physiotherapy procedure sets the lamp 15 to 20 inches from the skin, starting at 10 minutes and building to 20. A lamp maker's safety sheet says never closer than 18 inches to any person or surface.
- Feel: the skin should feel "warm but not too hot"; if not, move the lamp further away.
- Bony areas: do not concentrate heat over bony points.
- Skin checks: look for redness, blisters and burns before and after.
Your own lamp's instructions on distance and time come first.
Can an infrared heat lamp burn your skin or start a fire?
Yes, both are documented risks, which is why safety guidelines set distances, guards and supervision rules. Used with care, a heat lamp is a source of warmth like any other heater.
A safety sheet for 250 W reflector heat lamps says they can heat skin enough to burn and must be kept away from paper and other combustible materials. Lamp safety sheet, 2000 The glass can shatter if splashed, so it rules out showers and bathrooms. A university guideline adds these rules. UNMC, 2025
- Hardware: a guard that stays on, a ceramic socket, and no bulbs over 250 W.
- Clearance: at least 18 inches from cloth, paper and anything that can burn.
- Use: never unattended or overnight; unplug after use.
A heat lamp is not suitable for anyone asleep or unconscious, or for children left alone with it. Take extra care with poor circulation or reduced heat sensation.
Repeated heat below burning level can also mark the skin. Erythema ab igne is a lacy red rash from long-term infrared heat from any source, including heaters and heat pads. DermNet, 2024 Mild cases fade over months once the heat stops.
Is it safe to use a heat lamp or red light near your face and eyes?
Cover the eyes whenever your face is in a heat lamp's beam, and never look into the bulb. With light therapy, wear goggles with the panel and keep your eyes closed; the mask has an eye opening with no diodes over the eyes.
The AAD advises the recommended eye protection every time with red light therapy, and says sunglasses are not a substitute. With the panel near the neck or head, set it side-on or behind you, never aimed straight at your face. Our guide to red light therapy goggles covers fit and use.
Can you use a heat lamp and a red light panel in the same routine?
Yes, in separate sessions: use the panel on dry, cooled skin, and keep it away from the lamp and other heat sources.
- Timing: use them on different days, or run the panel first while the skin is cool.
- Fresh injuries: ice is for acute injuries and swelling. AAOS
- Heat: gentle warmth suits muscle stiffness, but not swollen or bruised areas.
Our article on red light therapy vs an infrared sauna uses the same approach for heat and light.
How do you use a Kivorla panel or mask where you might have used a heat lamp?
For the back, shoulders or knees, set the panel 12 inches from a broad area or 6 inches from a joint for 10 to 15 minutes, goggles on and eyes closed. For the face, the mask is built for the job, with an eye opening and no diodes over the eyes.
The 9-Spectrum Red Light Therapy Panel is an LED panel with 480, 590, 630, 660, 670, 810, 830, 850 and 1060 nm, each dimmable from 1 to 100%. At 6 inches it puts out at least 1,567 W/m².
- Surface: stays at or below 40°C, which is why it sits much closer than a heat lamp.
- Position: hang it on a door or wall at the right height with the included door hook, pulley, hanging cables and screws, or stand it upright on the floor.
- Settings: the controller sets each wavelength and a timer from 1 to 30 minutes; with no time set, it stops at 5 minutes.
- Skin and eyes: bare, dry skin; included goggles on, eyes closed. Warm is fine; hot means stop.
The 4-Wavelength Red Light Therapy Mask is cordless, with a full-face silicone shell. The red mode uses 665 nm red with 850 and 1064 nm near-infrared; the blue mode uses 460 nm blue with 850 nm. The manual suggests 10 minutes up to 4 times a week at high brightness, or 15 minutes up to 3 times a week, never more than 20 minutes a day. For the jaw, under the chin and the neck, use the panel.
Do not use either device if you are pregnant, have epilepsy, have a thyroid condition or take thyroid medication, or have broken skin on the area. The panel manual adds breastfeeding, preparing for pregnancy, sunburn on the body in the past 2 weeks, and Fitzpatrick skin type V or VI. Our precautions rule out use with photosensitising medication, so anyone taking a medicine should check with their pharmacist or doctor before using the device.
Read the precautions before ordering. Standard shipping to the US, UK and Germany is free. Under our return and refund policy, returns are accepted within 30 days: an unopened device with its seals intact is refunded less a 10% restocking fee, and an opened device that is undamaged and complete is refunded less 20%.
Kivorla devices are general wellness devices, not medical devices, and are not intended to treat back pain or any other condition. See a doctor for new, severe or lasting pain, and follow your heat lamp's own instructions for distance and time.