Musician sitting on a stool in his rehearsal room in front of the Kivorla red light therapy panel

Red Light Therapy for Carpal Tunnel: What the Trials Show

Red light therapy for carpal tunnel has its clearest support in the short term: reviews of the trials found less pain and a stronger grip than with placebo for about five weeks. Most trials used clinic lasers on the palm side of the wrist, usually alongside a night splint, and the benefit faded by about 12 weeks. Below: what carpal tunnel syndrome is, the numbers from the reviews, the settings researchers used, who should not use light, and how to set up a panel for your wrists.

Key takeaways

  • A 2017 Cochrane review of 22 trials with 1,153 people found pain 1.47 points lower on a 10-point scale than with placebo in the short term, with very low certainty evidence. Rankin, Cochrane 2017
  • The same review found grip strength 2.58 kg higher than with placebo in the short term. Rankin, Cochrane 2017
  • A 2018 review of 17 trials found strong evidence of benefit over placebo up to about five weeks, after which the effect faded. Franke, 2018
  • In a 2022 sham-controlled trial of 42 adults, 670 nm red laser light shrank the median nerve's area on ultrasound from 13.0 to 11.1 mm², while the sham group stayed at 13.8 mm². Nalbant, 2022
  • The NHS says a wrist splint may need to be worn for up to 6 weeks before symptoms start to feel better. NHS

Does red light therapy for carpal tunnel help?

In the short term, yes: reviews of laser therapy for carpal tunnel syndrome find less pain, a stronger grip and better hand function than with placebo for about five weeks. By 12 weeks the evidence is conflicting, so light fits best as an add-on to a splint rather than a long-term fix.

Five reviews have pooled the trials.

Review What it pooled Main finding
Rankin, Cochrane 2017 22 trials, 1,153 people Pain 1.47 points lower on 10, grip 2.58 kg and pinch 0.94 kg stronger than placebo, under 3 months
Bekhet, 2017 8 trials, 473 people, 631 wrists Grip 2.19 kg stronger than placebo
Franke, 2018 17 trials and 2 reviews Strong evidence of benefit over placebo up to about 5 weeks
Burger, 2017 9 sham or placebo trials Better results at 780 to 860 nm and 9 to 11 J/cm²
Lauxen, 2025 13 trials Better hand function
Woman standing in a bright hallway beside the Kivorla red light therapy panel

The clearest gains were in grip and hand function. Grip came out about 2 to 2.5 kg stronger across the two reviews that pooled it. Bekhet, 2017 The newest review found better hand function and called for standard dosing. Lauxen, 2025

The Cochrane authors rated the evidence low to very low certainty, because many trials were small. Our guide to red light therapy for hands and feet gives a shorter summary.

What is carpal tunnel syndrome, and how is it different from wrist tendonitis?

Carpal tunnel syndrome is pressure on the median nerve where it passes through a narrow tunnel on the palm side of the wrist. It causes tingling, numbness or pain in the fingers, while tendonitis causes pain in a tendon.

Mayo Clinic lists the fingers affected as "the thumb, index, middle and ring fingers, but not the little finger." Mayo Clinic The NHS adds "a weak thumb or difficulty gripping", with symptoms "usually worse at night". NHS

The NHS lists pregnancy, being overweight, repeated gripping "such as using vibrating tools", arthritis, diabetes and a previous wrist injury as risk factors. NHS Mayo Clinic adds thyroid conditions. Mayo Clinic

Three problems can feel similar:

Which light did the carpal tunnel trials use: red, near-infrared or laser?

Mostly near-infrared lasers at 780 to 860 nm, with a few red lasers at 632.8 and 670 nm. A 2017 review found more favourable results at 780 to 860 nm with 9 to 11 J/cm².

Trials in that range reported better pain, symptoms, function and grip at the end of treatment and at short-term follow-up. Burger, 2017

Red light has its own results:

  • 670 nm: the 2022 trial above, with 15 sessions over 3 weeks, reduced swelling of the median nerve more than sham. Nalbant, 2022
  • 632.8 nm: in a small study of 11 people, red light on the hand, with 904 nm on the arm and neck and mild electrical stimulation, improved pain and nerve signs more than sham. Naeser, 2002

The trials used lasers held on or close to the skin at a few points. Home panels use the same red and near-infrared wavelengths from LEDs, at lower power and over a wider area. Our article on cold laser therapy vs red light therapy explains the difference, and 660 nm vs 850 nm compares red and near-infrared.

How long does relief from light therapy for carpal tunnel last?

The clearest benefit lasts up to about five weeks. A 2018 review found strong evidence of benefit up to about five weeks, then the effect fades, and by 12 weeks the evidence is conflicting.

That review concluded that, in the very short term, "low-level laser therapy is more effective as a single intervention than placebo". Franke, 2018 The Cochrane review found too few long-term data to judge beyond 3 months. Rankin, Cochrane 2017

Milder cases did best. In a trial of 87 people with 830 nm laser, relief in mild cases lasted to 5 weeks. Jiang, 2011

Should you use light with a wrist splint or instead of one?

With one. Most trials added light to a night splint, and the splint stays the first step in NHS and Mayo Clinic advice.

A 2026 trial of 63 people compared a night splint alone with splint plus low-level or high-intensity laser. Demiroğlu, 2026

Both laser groups improved symptoms, function and sensory nerve conduction more than splint alone at 1 and 3 months.

In a trial of 45 women, pinch strength improved with 775 nm or 1064 nm laser plus a splint, but not with the splint alone. Hojjati, 2020

The splint does much of the work. In an 81-person trial where everyone wore a night splint, pain and function improved in both the laser and placebo groups, and grip improved with laser only. Evcik, 2007

Can red light ease night numbness and tingling in the hand?

Night tingling eased in a 670 nm red light trial, and it eased in the sham group too, because everyone wore a night splint. What changed more with real light was swelling of the median nerve.

The trial gave 42 adults real or sham light, 15 sessions over 3 weeks, and all wore a wrist orthosis 8 hours a night. Nalbant, 2022

  • Night tingling, light group: 90.9% of patients before, 54.5% after.
  • Night tingling, sham group: 95% before, 65% after.
  • Median nerve area, light group: 13.0 mm² before, 11.1 mm² after.
  • Median nerve area, sham group: 13.8 mm² before and after.

The nerve area difference between groups was significant, and no side effects were reported. For the nights themselves, Mayo Clinic advises a night splint. Mayo Clinic

What settings did the carpal tunnel light trials use?

Most gave 10 to 20 sessions, five a week for two to three weeks, at 2 to 5 points over the palm side of the wrist. Doses were small, up to about 10 J/cm² per point.

Study Light Dose Time Schedule Main result
Nalbant, 2022 670 nm red laser 0.8 J per point, 5 points Not stated 5 a week, 3 weeks (15) Nerve swelling down more than sham
Chang, 2008 830 nm laser, pulsed at 10 Hz 9.7 J/cm² 10 minutes 5 a week, 2 weeks (10) Pain lower than placebo
Jiang, 2011 830 nm laser, pulsed at 10 Hz 9.7 J/cm² Not stated Not stated Pain lower; mild cases to 5 weeks
Lazovic, 2014 780 nm laser, continuous 3.4 J/cm² per point, 4 points 90 seconds per point 5 a week for 2 weeks, then every other day for 3 weeks (20) Pain, Tinel's sign and nerve latencies better than placebo
Evcik, 2007 Laser, wavelength not given 7 J 2 minutes 5 a week, 2 weeks (10) Grip better than placebo
Shooshtari, 2008 Laser, wavelength not given 9 to 11 J/cm² Not stated 5 a week, 3 weeks (15) Symptoms and grip better

Sources: Chang, 2008; Lazovic, 2014; Shooshtari, 2008; the others are linked above.

Researchers aimed at the palm side of the wrist: over the ligament that roofs the tunnel, or at 4 to 5 points along the median nerve. Laser joules per point do not convert directly into a panel session. What carries over is the pattern: the palm side of the wrist, regular sessions over a few weeks, and a splint at night.

Can red light therapy help you avoid carpal tunnel surgery?

Light was studied for short-term relief in mild to moderate carpal tunnel syndrome, alongside a splint, not as a replacement for surgery. The NHS says surgery "usually cures CTS", and it is the standard step when symptoms are severe or do not improve.

The NHS calls a steroid injection "not always a cure". NHS

The American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons advises surgery "In long-standing cases with constant numbness and wasting of your thumb muscles", to prevent permanent damage. OrthoInfo

If you have had a steroid injection, ask the clinician who gave it before adding light to the same wrist.

Can you use red light after carpal tunnel release surgery?

Only once the wound has fully closed and your surgeon agrees, because our precautions rule out use over open wounds. One small study of light after this surgery reported encouraging nerve test results.

In that trial, 58 people had 830 nm laser or placebo after release surgery. At 6 months, nerve tests were abnormal in 29.4% of the laser group and 63.6% of the placebo group. Alves, 2011 It was a small, low-quality trial, so treat it as an early signal.

Can you use red light for carpal tunnel in pregnancy or with a thyroid condition?

No: our precautions rule out the panel during pregnancy, while breastfeeding or preparing for pregnancy, and with a thyroid condition or thyroid medication. Both pregnancy and thyroid conditions are known risk factors for carpal tunnel syndrome, so check this first.

In pregnancy, the NHS notes it may settle within a few months; a night splint and your midwife or GP are the place to start. The panel is also not for use with light-triggered seizures, sunburn in the past 2 weeks, broken skin, or Fitzpatrick skin types V or VI.

Our precautions also rule out use with photosensitising medication, so if you take any medicine, including painkillers, check with your pharmacist or doctor first.

When do carpal tunnel symptoms need a doctor first?

See a doctor if numbness is there all the time, the muscles at the base of the thumb look flatter or weaker, or you keep dropping things. Mayo Clinic warns: "Lasting nerve and muscle damage can occur without treatment."

  • Daily life: symptoms that interfere with sleep or daily activities (Mayo Clinic).
  • No progress: symptoms getting worse or not going away, or home treatment not working (NHS).
  • Other signs: arm symptoms with neck pain, or sudden weakness after an injury.

Get a diagnosis before trying light. The trials enrolled people with mild to moderate carpal tunnel syndrome.

How do you use a Kivorla panel on your wrists?

Set the panel at table height, rest your forearms in front of it with palms facing the light at about 6 inches, and wear the goggles. Run the red and near-infrared channels for 10 to 15 minutes, three to five times a week, and judge it at three to five weeks.

The 9-Spectrum Red Light Therapy Panel carries 480, 590, 630, 660, 670, 810, 830, 850 and 1060 nm, each dimmable from 1 to 100%. Its 670 nm and 830 nm channels match wavelengths used in the trials, and 810 and 850 nm sit inside the 780 to 860 nm range linked with better results. At 6 inches it puts out at least 1,567 W/m². At 640 x 230 mm, it fits both forearms side by side.

  • Position: hang it on a door or wall with the included door hook, pulley, hanging cables and screws, at the height of a table you sit at, or stand it upright on the floor.
  • Aim: palms towards the panel, so the palm side of the wrist gets the light; the backs of the hands can follow.
  • Channels: 670, 810, 830 and 850 nm on; 630 and 660 nm optional; 480 and 590 nm at their lowest setting.
  • Distance: about 6 inches, without resting your hands on the panel. Numb fingertips may not feel warmth well, and the surface stays at or below 40°C.
  • Timer: 10 to 15 minutes per area. If no time is set, the panel stops at 5 minutes.
  • Log: note night waking, which fingers tingle, dropped objects and pain out of 10.

The laser trials gave small doses at a few points. To stay closer to that range:

  • Shorter timer: it starts at 1 minute.
  • Dimmer channels: turn near-infrared and red down from 100%.
  • More distance: step back to 12 inches.

More is not better. Keep your night splint, leave at least 6 hours between 30-minute sessions, and see a doctor if nothing changes. Goggles and a controller are included.

Standard shipping to the US, UK and Germany is free. Read the precautions before ordering. Under our return and refund policy, returns are accepted within 30 days: an unopened device with its seals intact is refunded less a 10% restocking fee, and an opened device that is undamaged and complete is refunded less 20%.

Kivorla devices are general wellness devices, not medical devices, and are not intended to treat carpal tunnel syndrome. See a doctor for constant numbness, thumb weakness or symptoms that disturb sleep or daily life, and keep any splint or treatment your doctor has advised.

Back to blog