Potter at his wheel wearing the black Kivorla red light therapy mask

Red Light Therapy for Seborrheic Dermatitis: What the Research Shows

Red light therapy for seborrheic dermatitis has early, encouraging evidence: in a randomised study of 201 people with the rash on the face, adding red light and pulsed light to a prescription ointment significantly improved signs and symptoms over 8 weeks. In lab tests, blue and red light both slowed the growth of Malassezia, the skin yeast linked to the condition. Below: LED versus clinic UV, blue versus red, the face, scalp and beard, study settings, and home use.

Key takeaways

  • In a randomised study of 201 people with facial seborrheic dermatitis, adding red light and intense pulsed light to tacrolimus ointment significantly improved signs and symptoms over 8 weeks. Fang, 2023
  • In a lab study, blue light at 465 nm and red light at 625 nm each slowed the growth of Malassezia yeast, and blue had the stronger effect. Kim, 2018
  • In human skin cells exposed to an irritant, 660 nm red light lowered the inflammation signal TNF-alpha by 62%. Salman, 2023
  • The light therapy dermatologists prescribe for widespread seborrheic dermatitis is UVB, and most patients need 3 sessions a week for up to 8 weeks. AAD
  • Seborrheic dermatitis affects 3% to 12% of the population and is among the five most common diagnoses in Black patients. DermNet

What does research show about red light therapy for seborrheic dermatitis?

The research is early and points in a helpful direction: red light added to a prescription ointment was reported safe and effective, and it calmed inflamed skin cells in the lab. The studies so far use light alongside standard care, which is how it fits best.

Seborrheic dermatitis, also spelt seborrhoeic dermatitis in the UK, is a long-term rash of oily skin with redness, flaking and itch. The AAD links it to a yeast "that lives on everyone's skin" and to skin oil, not to unclean skin. AAD, causes

Antifungal creams and shampoos are the first-line treatment, with steroid and calcineurin creams as the next step. Clark, 2015 Light research falls into a few groups:

Type of light Where it is used What seborrheic dermatitis studies show
Narrowband UVB (311 nm) Clinic, prescribed All 18 adults improved over up to 8 weeks in a small study
Intense pulsed light (IPL) Clinic With salicylic acid, faster and greater improvement in 45 people
Red light Clinic or home Added to tacrolimus, with or without IPL, in 201 people: signs and symptoms improved
Blue light Clinic or home Slowed Malassezia yeast in lab dishes
Blue, yellow and red LED together Clinic One case report: "almost completely better" after 3 sessions
Man holding a mug at his home office desk while wearing the black Kivorla red light therapy mask

LED light contains no UV. Eczema care has the same split, covered in our guide to red light therapy for eczema.

Which light therapy do dermatologists use for seborrheic dermatitis?

For widespread seborrheic dermatitis, dermatologists may prescribe UVB light, which the AAD says "may help clear a widespread rash", with 3 sessions a week for up to 8 weeks for most patients. AAD

The main UVB study treated 18 adults with severe seborrheic dermatitis 3 times a week for at most 8 weeks. All of them improved, and itch scores fell by week 8. The rash returned a median of 21 days after the course ended. Bhudisaksang and Powanusorn, 2024

Seborrheic dermatitis is managed over time, so every plan includes upkeep.

A 2024 review of 9 studies found that IPL with salicylic acid, photodynamic therapy and a picosecond laser reduced skin oil and Malassezia. Jaalouk, 2024 In a 45-person study, IPL plus salicylic acid improved facial seborrheic dermatitis faster than either alone. Gu and Wang, 2020

A 2024 systematic review concluded that light belongs within a broader treatment plan, and that combining it with topical treatments may improve results. Bhudisaksang and Powanusorn, 2024

Is blue or red light better for seborrheic dermatitis?

They aim at different parts of the problem: blue light at the Malassezia yeast, red light at redness and inflammation. Blue light therapy for seborrheic dermatitis draws its support from lab dishes, while red light has the controlled human study.

  • Blue light: slowed Malassezia growth in lab dishes, more strongly than red.
  • Red light: lowered inflammation signals in skin cells and was reported safe and effective alongside tacrolimus in people.
  • Near-infrared: travels deeper; in a review of red and near-infrared research found it lowered inflammatory markers in activated inflammatory cells. Hamblin, 2017

Our blue light therapy guide explains why blue sessions suit the morning or afternoon.

Does blue light kill the Malassezia yeast behind seborrheic dermatitis?

In lab dishes, blue light slowed the growth of Malassezia, and red light did too, more weakly. These tests used long single exposures on yeast in a dish, so they show how light can act rather than a result on skin.

The yeast matters: antifungals reduce it and ease symptoms, which return when it regrows. AAD, causes

In a 2018 study, researchers lit four Malassezia samples with 465 nm blue or 625 nm red LEDs at 5 cm for 30 to 120 minutes. Kim, 2018

  • Light alone: red and blue each slowed growth compared with unlit yeast.
  • Colour: the authors wrote that "blue light has better antifungal effects than red light".

The samples were a dog-skin species; human seborrheic dermatitis mainly involves Malassezia restricta and globosa. Blue light's effect on fungi also varies by species. Trzaska, 2017

Can red light help seborrheic dermatitis on the face and around the nose?

The face is where the human light evidence sits: both the randomised red light study and the LED case report treated facial seborrheic dermatitis.

The AAD lists the sides of the nose, the forehead and the eyebrows among common sites. AAD, symptoms In the randomised study, 201 people used tacrolimus alone or with red light, IPL, or both, for 8 weeks. Fang, 2023

  • Signs and symptoms: significantly improved when red light and IPL were added to tacrolimus.
  • Rash area and itch: improved most with red light plus IPL.
  • Safety: no serious adverse reactions.

Redness scores were similar across the groups.

In the case report, a man whose facial rash had resisted treatment had three 20-minute clinic LED sessions, three weeks apart. Itch, scaling and oiliness improved. Fonseka, 2020

In skin cells, 660 nm red light also lowered the inflammation signal IL-6 by 69%. Salman, 2023 The AAD lists rosacea among conditions that raise the risk of seborrheic dermatitis, and both affect the centre of the face. See red light therapy for rosacea for heat-aware routines.

Eyelids need a doctor, not light. Eyelid seborrheic dermatitis "rarely damages the eyes", says the AAD, and Mayo Clinic advises baby shampoo and warm cloths. Mayo Clinic

Can light reach seborrheic dermatitis on the scalp or in a beard?

Hair blocks part of the light, so the scalp and beard need a panel, close up, with the hair parted. Medicated shampoo stays the base for both areas.

Mayo Clinic advises antifungal shampoos with "2% ketoconazole or 1% ciclopirox". Mayo Clinic

  • Scalp: dandruff shampoo 2 to 3 times a week for straight or wavy hair, and once a week may suit curly or tightly coiled hair. AAD
  • Beard: 1% ketoconazole shampoo daily until better, then weekly or every two weeks. Mayo adds: "Or shaving might ease your symptoms."

For light on the scalp, the method in our guide to red light therapy for hair growth applies: clean, dry hair, no oils or styling products, and one or two partings across the patch. The beard along the jaw and under the chin also needs the panel, since the mask covers the face only.

Does sunlight or heat make seborrheic dermatitis better or worse?

It can go either way: DermNet notes improvement in summer "following sun exposure" DermNet, while the AAD warns that "heat and sun can also trigger seborrheic dermatitis". AAD, self-care

Cleveland Clinic lists being "in the sun for too long" among triggers, along with cold, dry weather. Cleveland Clinic The AAD advises sunscreen with "zinc oxide or titanium dioxide". AAD, self-care

The UV part of sunlight is what clinic UVB uses. LED devices give no UV, but a session can feel warm, so keep it cool:

  • Room and skin: start with cool skin in a cool room.
  • Start small: lowest brightness and shortest timer in the first week.
  • Watch: a pink flush that fades within the hour is expected; stop if itch or redness rises.

Can you use red light with ketoconazole shampoo or prescription creams?

Yes, as an add-on: the red light study added light to tacrolimus, and the 2024 review places light within a broader plan alongside topical treatments. Use light on clean, dry skin first, then apply your products.

The AAD lists the prescription options a dermatologist may use: AAD

  • Antifungals: ketoconazole foam or gel, and ciclopirox shampoo, which "Most patients use" twice a week for 4 weeks.
  • Anti-inflammatory creams: corticosteroids, roflumilast foam, and short-term pimecrolimus or tacrolimus.

Our precautions rule out the devices with photosensitising medication, so if you use any prescription cream or tablet, check with your pharmacist or doctor before adding light. For timing around serums and moisturiser, see red light therapy before or after skincare.

What settings did seborrheic dermatitis light studies use?

Schedules ranged from 3 sessions three weeks apart to 3 sessions a week for 8 weeks. Most human results were judged at about 8 weeks.

Study Who or what Light Strength or dose Time Schedule
AAD guidance Widespread rash UVB Prescribed Not stated 3 a week, up to 8 weeks
Pirkhammer, 2000 18 adults, severe rash 311 nm narrowband UVB Started at 70% of the dose that reddens skin Not stated 3 a week, up to 8 weeks
Fang, 2023 201 people, face Red light with tacrolimus, some groups with IPL Not reported Not reported 8 weeks
Fonseka, 2020 Case report, face Blue, yellow and red LED 60 mW/cm² 20 minutes Every 3 weeks, 3 sessions
Kim, 2018 Yeast in a dish 465 nm blue or 625 nm red 62.9 mW/cm² at 5 cm 30 to 120 minutes Single exposure
Salman, 2023 Human skin cells 660 nm red 3 J/cm² 250 seconds Single exposure

Lab and clinic exposures do not transfer directly to home use. Cell research shows a "pronounced biphasic dose response": low light stimulates and high light inhibits. Hamblin, 2017 Moderate, regular sessions make sense.

Plan for upkeep. A once-weekly medicated shampoo can prevent relapse. Clark, 2015 Take photos in the same light at the start and judge at about 8 weeks.

Is red light safe for seborrheic dermatitis on darker skin?

Seborrheic dermatitis is very common in darker skin, and visible light can darken skin, so see a dermatologist first. Our panel is not for Fitzpatrick skin types V or VI.

The AAD says that on darker skin a scalp rash may look pink, slightly purple or lighter than natural skin, and a facial rash may look darker or show light spots. AAD, symptoms The AAD's red light page advises talking to a dermatologist first if you have darker skin, because visible light can cause hyperpigmentation. AAD, red light therapy Blue light carries more of that risk than red, as our blue light therapy guide reports.

The LED and IPL studies above reported no serious side effects. Other points from our precautions and the AAD:

  • Epilepsy: the AAD lists epilepsy among conditions linked to seborrheic dermatitis, and our precautions rule out the devices with epilepsy.
  • Pregnancy: not for use if pregnant, breastfeeding or preparing for pregnancy.
  • Thyroid: not with a thyroid condition or thyroid medication.
  • Broken skin: skip split or weeping patches, which can occur in skin folds.
  • Sunburn: no panel use within 2 weeks of sunburn on the body.
  • Eyes: the AAD warns: "Don't substitute sunglasses for protective goggles."

See also is red light therapy safe.

How do you use a Kivorla mask or panel alongside seborrheic dermatitis care?

Use the mask for the face, and the panel for the scalp, the eyebrows, the beard along the jaw, the neck and the chest. Start low and short, two to three times a week, and keep your shampoo and creams as directed.

The 4-Wavelength Red Light Therapy Mask is a full-face silicone shell with an eye opening and no diodes over the eyes. The red mode is 665 nm red with 850 and 1064 nm near-infrared. The blue mode is 460 nm blue with 850 nm, close to the 465 nm blue of the Malassezia lab study.

  • Week 1: on clean, dry skin, 50% brightness on the 5-minute timer, 2 to 3 times a week.
  • Build up: 10 minutes, then 70%, then 90%, only while skin stays calm.
  • Two modes: run the red mode and the blue mode on different days, with blue earlier in the day.
  • Limits: 10 minutes up to 4 times a week at high brightness, or 15 minutes up to 3 times a week, and never more than 20 minutes in a day.

The 9-Spectrum Red Light Therapy Panel carries 480, 590, 630, 660, 670, 810, 830, 850 and 1060 nm, each dimmable from 1 to 100%. It hangs on a door or wall with the included door hook, pulley, hanging cables and screws, or stands upright on the floor. Goggles and a controller come in the box.

  • Neck, chest and jaw: start at 12 inches, red channels low and near-infrared low, for 3 to 5 minutes.
  • Scalp: lower the panel to head height with the pulley, part the hair, and keep about 6 inches, with a short timer at first.
  • Brows: keep the goggles on and the eyes closed.
  • Build up: the timer starts at 1 minute; work towards 10 to 15 minutes per area.
  • Spacing: leave at least 6 hours between 30-minute sessions.

The surface stays at or below 40°C. If skin feels hot, dim near-infrared first. Keep the same settings for 8 weeks and compare photos.

Standard shipping to the US, UK and Germany is free. Read the precautions before ordering. Under our return and refund policy, returns are accepted within 30 days: an unopened device with its seals intact is refunded less a 10% restocking fee, and an opened device that is undamaged and complete is refunded less 20%.

Kivorla devices are general wellness devices, not medical devices, and are not intended to treat seborrheic dermatitis. See a dermatologist to confirm the diagnosis, for rash on the eyelids or in infants, or if self-care does not help, and keep using the treatment you have been prescribed.

Back to blog