Man lacing his boots on a sofa beside the Kivorla red light therapy panel, wearing protective goggles

Red Light Therapy Pad: What the Research Shows, Heat Safety and Pad vs Panel

A red light therapy pad is a flat or flexible panel of red and near-infrared LEDs that you lay on, or strap over, one area of the body such as a knee, the lower back or the feet. The closest evidence for this format comes from contact light devices used in research, from infrared pads and waistbands to LED clusters held on the skin in clinics. Below: how a pad compares with a panel, what the research used, heat and sleep safety, a protocol table, buying questions and how to get pad-style sessions from a Kivorla panel or mask.

Key takeaways

  • In a placebo-controlled trial of a battery infrared waistband worn on the low back, pain fell from 6.9 to 3 out of 10, against 7.4 to 6 with placebo units. Gale, 2006
  • A 2019 review of 22 trials with 1,063 people found that clinic lasers held on the knee lowered pain by 14.2 mm on a 100 mm scale more than placebo, and by 18.7 mm at recommended doses. Stausholm, 2019
  • A typical LED turns only 20 to 30% of its electricity into light, so arrays made to touch the skin must be built to stay cool. Heiskanen and Hamblin, 2018
  • Repeated warmth on the same patch of skin, such as a heat pad used for backache, can cause a mottled rash called erythema ab igne. DermNet, 2024
  • The pads sold for home use today have had few controlled trials, so the closest evidence comes from the contact devices researchers used.

What is a red light therapy pad?

A red light therapy pad is a light device that rests on the skin, with LEDs set into a flat or flexible surface. Most are sized for one target area, and many have straps so they can be wrapped round a joint.

Wraps and belts go round the waist, back or knee, and mats are larger surfaces you lie on. Our red light blanket guide compares these larger formats.

Fabric between the LEDs and the skin blocks much of the light. Any pad, wrap or panel works best on bare skin over the target area.

Red light therapy pad vs panel: which suits which job?

Neither format is better in general: a pad fixes the distance on one area, while a panel lets you set the distance, channels and timer and reach a larger area. The right choice depends on the area you want to light.

Format How it sits What it lights Distance Suits
Pad or wrap Strapped or laid over one area One joint or region, such as a knee or the feet Fixed, resting on the skin A single target area
Panel Hangs on a door or wall, or stands upright One joint up close, or a broad area from further back Set by you, 6 to 12 inches away Body areas, with distance, channels and timer you set
Face mask Worn on the face, held by a strap The face Fixed by the shell, a few millimetres from the skin Facial skin, hands-free
Woman sitting on a mat wearing leg warmers beside the Kivorla red light therapy panel, wearing protective goggles

A pad keeps the distance the same every session, though widely spaced LEDs leave bright and dim patches. A panel used at 6 to 12 inches does not rest on the skin, which makes warmth easier to judge. In the red light therapy pad vs panel choice, a panel with separate channels also lets you choose which wavelengths run. For every format side by side, see red light therapy devices compared.

What research has tested contact light devices?

Researchers have tested infrared pads on the legs and feet, a battery infrared waistband on the low back, LED clusters held on muscles and clinic lasers placed on joints. These were research or clinic devices, so they show what light applied at the skin can do rather than how any one consumer pad performs.

A 2018 review found LED light "appears to be similarly effective as laser therapy for superficial tissue". Heiskanen and Hamblin, 2018

In sports research, small clusters of lasers or LEDs were held on a muscle, mostly before exercise. A review of 13 randomised trials found that 10 improved the main performance measure. Leal-Junior, 2015

Can a red light pad help knee pain or lower back pain?

The knee and lower back are the areas most pads are made for, and both have contact-light research behind them. The closest evidence comes from clinic lasers placed on the knee and a small trial of an infrared waistband worn on the low back.

For the knee, a 2019 review pooled 22 placebo-controlled trials with 1,063 people. Laser light on spots around the knee lowered pain by 14.2 mm on a 100 mm scale more than placebo, and by 18.7 mm at recommended doses. Stausholm, 2019 Our knee pain article covers these trials in full.

For the low back, a placebo-controlled trial used two battery infrared units in a waistband worn against the skin, giving out 800 to 1,200 nm. The people in it had chronic low back pain lasting over six years. Gale, 2006

Pain fell from 6.9 to 3 out of 10 with the infrared units, and from 7.4 to 6 with identical-looking placebo units. That waistband used broad-band infrared, a relative of today's 660 and 850 nm LED wraps rather than the same thing.

Do contact light pads on the feet help diabetic neuropathy?

Two sham-controlled trials of contact infrared pads on the legs and feet in diabetic neuropathy gave mixed results, one smaller and one larger. Anyone with diabetes or numb feet should ask their doctor first, because reduced feeling means warmth can go unnoticed.

In the smaller trial, 27 adults had one leg treated with active pads and the other with sham pads for 2 weeks, then both legs with active pads. Leonard, 2004 The larger trial also tested contact infrared pads. Lavery, 2008

Can you use a red light pad on a wound or after surgery?

No home light device should go over an open wound, stitches, staples or broken skin. The wound research used clinic LED light given by researchers alongside standard dressings.

In a placebo-controlled trial of diabetic leg ulcers, combined 660 and 890 nm LED light was given twice a week alongside cleaning and dressings. By day 90, 58.3% of ulcers in the light group had healed fully, against one ulcer in the placebo group. Minatel, 2009

A trial by the same group in 20 people with chronic venous ulcers found faster healing with light plus dressings than with dressings alone. Caetano, 2009 A review of 4 trials with 131 people with diabetic foot ulcers found positive outcomes and no adverse events. Tchanque-Fossuo, 2016

After surgery, light at home comes later: once the wound has fully closed and the surgeon agrees. Our red light therapy after surgery article covers timing.

Do red light therapy pads get hot, and is it safe to sleep on one?

LED pads give off some warmth, and a device held against the skin cannot shed heat as easily as one used at a distance. Never sleep on or under a pad, and follow its maker's directions on heat and skin contact.

A typical LED turns only 20 to 30% of its electricity into light, and the rest becomes heat. Arrays designed to touch the skin "cannot be allowed to get too hot". Heiskanen and Hamblin, 2018

Repeated warmth on the same patch of skin matters even when it never feels like a burn. DermNet describes erythema ab igne, a mottled rash from heat such as heat pads used for chronic backache; mild cases fade over months once the heat stops. DermNet, 2024

Electric blanket advice fits any corded device that lies on the body: "Heat can become trapped in the bedding layers and cause burns." Maine State Fire Marshal

  • Stay awake: light research used timed sessions while people were awake. Our panel manual says it is not for use by sleeping or unconscious persons.
  • Keep it flat and clear: do not fold a pad while it is on, keep bedding off it, and unplug it afterwards.
  • Check the skin: look at the area afterwards, especially if feeling there is reduced.
  • Warm is fine; hot means stop: remove the pad if it feels hot or stings.

How long and how often did trials apply contact light?

The contact trials ran fixed sessions over weeks, from weekly to about three times a week, for 4 to 13 weeks. Every device was used on the outside of the body.

Study Device and placement Wavelength Sessions Length
Gale, 2006 Battery infrared units in a waistband, on the low back 800 to 1,200 nm Weekly visits 7 weeks
Leonard, 2004 Near-infrared pads on the legs and feet Not stated in the record 12 treatments, about 3 a week 4 weeks
Minatel, 2009 LED light on leg ulcers in a clinic, with dressings 660 + 890 nm 2 a week Up to 90 days
Caetano, 2009 LED light on venous ulcers in a clinic, with dressings 660 + 890 nm Not stated in the abstract Up to 90 days
Leal-Junior, 2015 (review) Laser or LED clusters held on the muscle Red or near-infrared Mostly one session before exercise Single sessions
Stausholm, 2019 (review) Clinic lasers on spots around the knee 785 to 860 nm or 904 nm Varied by trial Varied by trial

The American Academy of Dermatology puts it in one line: "This is not a one-and-done treatment." AAD, 2024

A moderate amount of light works better than too much, so read how much red light therapy is too much before adding minutes. For a pad, keep to the session time its maker gives and the same placement every time.

Can you use a red light pad on a dog?

Only with your vet's agreement, and only in the way the vet sets out. The minutes and distances in our manuals are written for people, so the vet decides the plan for an animal.

  • Eyes: never aim light at an animal's eyes; shield them or turn the head away.
  • Skin: no use over open wounds, lumps or tumours, and none on pregnant animals.
  • Watch: start short, stay with the animal, and stop if it is restless or the skin feels warm.

Our LED panel may be used on pets with the vet's agreement. See red light therapy for dogs for the vet-clinic research.

What should you check before buying a red light pad?

Check the wavelengths, how the output was measured, how evenly the LEDs are spread and how the pad handles heat. Clear directions on time, skin contact and eye protection matter as much as any number.

  • Wavelengths: stated in nm for each colour, not only "red" and "infrared".
  • Output: in mW/cm2, with where it was measured (at contact or at a distance) and whether it is an average across the pad.
  • Heat: a stated maximum surface temperature, and whether there is a separate heat setting.
  • Switch-off: anything you wear or lie on should turn itself off.
  • Eyes: the maker's eye advice. The AAD says "don't substitute sunglasses for protective goggles."

The AAD's first rule applies to every format: "Always use the device as described." AAD, 2024

How do you get pad-style sessions with a Kivorla panel or mask?

Kivorla does not make a pad. For one joint or body area, our panel does the same job from a short distance, and for the face, our mask sits a few millimetres from the skin.

The 9-Spectrum Red Light Therapy Panel is a 240 W half-body panel with nine wavelengths: 480, 590, 630, 660, 670, 810, 830, 850 and 1060 nm, each dimmable from 1 to 100%.

  • Set-up: hang it on a door or wall with the included door hook, pulley, hanging cables and screws, or stand it upright on the floor.
  • Distance: about 6 inches for one knee, elbow, ankle or wrist; about 12 inches for the lower back or both thighs. It is fine to start further back.
  • Time: 10 to 15 minutes per area, on a timer from 1 to 30 minutes. If no time is set, it stops at 5 minutes.
  • Rest: keep each sitting to 30 minutes or less, then wait at least 6 hours before the next.
  • No contact: the panel is never pressed on the skin, and its surface stays at or below 40°C.
  • Eyes: goggles on (included) and eyes closed. Near the head or neck, place it side-on or from behind, never aimed straight at the face.

To keep sessions gentle, use the controller to dim each wavelength, set a shorter timer, or step back from 6 to 12 inches.

The 4-Wavelength Red Light Therapy Mask is the contact-style option for the face: a cordless, full-face silicone shell with one eye opening and no diodes over the eyes. It covers the face only; the panel reaches the jaw, neck and body. Its red mode combines 665 nm red with 850 and 1064 nm near-infrared; its blue mode combines 460 nm blue with 850 nm.

  • Settings: brightness at 50, 70 or 90%; a 5, 10 or 15 minute timer.
  • Weekly limits: 10-minute sessions up to 4 times a week at high brightness, or 15-minute sessions up to 3 times a week, never more than 20 minutes a day.
  • On the go: 408 g with the handheld controller, around 40 minutes of use per charge, and a storage bag in the box.

Our precautions rule out use during pregnancy, with epilepsy, with a thyroid condition or thyroid medication, or over broken skin or sores. They also rule out photosensitising medication, so anyone taking a medicine should check with their pharmacist or doctor first. The panel is not for Fitzpatrick skin types V or VI.

Read the precautions before ordering. Standard shipping to the US, UK and Germany is free. Under our return and refund policy, returns are accepted within 30 days: an unopened device with its seals intact is refunded less a 10% restocking fee, and an opened device that is undamaged and complete is refunded less 20%.

Kivorla devices are general wellness devices, not medical devices, and are not intended to treat pain, neuropathy or wounds. Speak to your doctor first if you have diabetes or reduced feeling in the skin, and see a doctor for any wound or sore that is not healing.

Back to blog