Woman arranging candles while wearing the black Kivorla red light therapy mask

Red Light Therapy vs Microneedling: Which Suits Your Skin?

Red light therapy vs microneedling comes down to two different ways of prompting skin repair: microneedling makes tiny controlled punctures in a clinic, while red light makes no wound and works gradually over weeks of home sessions. Clinic microneedling is the stronger match for deep acne scars and stretch marks, and red light suits fine lines, texture and keeping skin in good condition with no downtime. Below: each goal in turn, study settings, downtime, timing after a session, home rollers, darker skin and mask use.

Key takeaways

  • Cleveland Clinic says microneedling sessions are usually 3 to 8 weeks apart, and results can take 3 to 6 months to show. Cleveland Clinic, 2022
  • A meta-analysis of 12 randomised trials with 414 participants found microneedling improved acne scars more than the treatments it was compared with. Shen, 2022
  • In a sham-controlled trial of 76 people, 633 nm, 830 nm or combined LED light twice a week for 4 weeks reduced wrinkles by up to 36%. Lee, 2007
  • The American Academy of Dermatology (AAD) says home red light devices can give "subtle to noticeable results on the face" with regular use. AAD, 2024
  • After microneedling, wait until the pinpoint marks have closed and the skin no longer stings, usually 24 to 72 hours, before a light session, as our guide to red light after microneedling explains.

Red light therapy vs microneedling: what is the difference?

Microneedling is a clinic procedure that punctures the skin with fine needles to set off wound healing and new collagen. Red light therapy shines red and near-infrared light on intact skin, makes no wound, and builds its effect over many sessions.

The AAD calls microneedling "a medical treatment that uses tiny needles to puncture the skin", also known as collagen induction therapy. AAD, 2023 Cleveland Clinic says needle lengths range from 0.5 to 2 millimetres, with longer needles for deep scars. Cleveland Clinic, 2022

Red light is thought to act on the mitochondria in skin cells and may stimulate collagen-making fibroblasts. Cleveland Clinic, 2021 The two have not been tested against each other in a head-to-head trial, so the useful question is which one suits your goal.

Point Microneedling Red light therapy (home mask)
How it works Controlled micro-injuries trigger wound healing Light on intact skin, no wound
Where Clinic, with a trained provider At home
Typical schedule A few sessions, 2 to 8 weeks apart About 2 to 4 sessions a week
Time to results Improvement in weeks, full results in 3 to 6 months First changes around week 4, more over 4 to 6 months
Downtime Redness and swelling for a few days None
Best matched to Deep acne scars, stretch marks, wrinkles Fine lines, texture, overall skin quality, upkeep
Wait or avoid Isotretinoin in the past month, active acne, cold sores, keloids Pregnancy, photosensitising medicine, broken skin
Woman writing in a travel journal while wearing the black Kivorla red light therapy mask

Clinic IPL and resurfacing lasers are a third group: they heat the skin, and are not the same as LED red light at home.

Which is better for deep or pitted acne scars?

Clinic microneedling is the better match: it is one of the dermatologist treatments for depressed acne scars, and randomised trials support it. Red light suits the skin around a scar and the active acne that causes new ones.

In the 2022 meta-analysis, microneedling on its own, without radiofrequency, gave greater objective scar improvement than the treatments it was compared with. Shen, 2022 No secondary scarring or infection was reported.

The AAD says a plan of microneedling combined with platelet-rich plasma (PRP), 3 to 5 treatments every 2 to 4 weeks, can fade acne scars by 50% to 70%. AAD, 2023

  • Scar type: Yale Medicine says microneedling works less well on deep, narrow ice-pick scars than on broader ones. Yale Medicine
  • Combinations: clinics pair it with PRP, peels, fillers, subcision and lasers. Măgerușan, 2024

Our article on red light therapy for scars and stretch marks covers the light research on surgical scars.

Microneedling vs LED light therapy for fine lines, texture and pores: which does more?

Both have supporting studies: microneedling gives a bigger push per session with a few days of redness, while light gives smaller, steady change with no downtime. The AAD notes dermatologists may use light alongside other treatments, and home devices to maintain results.

In an open study of 48 adults given 4 microneedling sessions 30 days apart, the wrinkle score improved by 1.23 grades at day 150. Ablon, 2018 In their diaries, 73% saw better lines and texture, and 83% better pores.

On the light side:

  • Wrinkles and elasticity: in the 76-person trial, wrinkles fell by up to 36% and elasticity rose by up to 19%, with a "marked increase" in collagen fibres on biopsy. Lee, 2007
  • Collagen density: after 30 twice-weekly sessions, the collagen score rose by 5.75 with red light, against minus 0.26 in untreated controls. Wunsch, 2014
  • Around the eyes: in 137 women, 660 nm light cut wrinkle volume by 31.6% over 4 weeks. Mota, 2023
  • Texture and pores: in a 20-person study of a 630 nm mask with no control group, cheek roughness fell by 23.8% and pore diameter by 32.8% at 12 weeks. Couturaud, 2023

Our guides to red light therapy for collagen and red light therapy for skin texture go further into these trials. For another device comparison, see microcurrent vs red light therapy.

Which is better for stretch marks on the stomach, hips or thighs?

Microneedling has the larger body of evidence for stretch marks. A face mask does not reach the body, and light research on stretch marks is smaller and has mostly used lasers.

A 2024 meta-analysis of 11 studies, 6 of them randomised, compared microneedling with other stretch mark treatments. Sun, 2024

  • Against lasers: clinical improvement was similar, and patients were more satisfied with microneedling.
  • Against non-laser treatments: microneedling came out ahead.
  • Side effects: less pigment change than lasers, but more pain.

The scars article linked above covers the light research and why newer red or purple marks respond better. Our precautions rule out Kivorla devices during pregnancy, so start after the birth once your doctor is happy.

How often do you need each, and what did the studies use?

Clinic microneedling is a short course of sessions spaced 2 to 8 weeks apart. The light trials used about two sessions a week for 4 to 15 weeks.

Source Treatment Wavelength or needle depth Dose or minutes Sessions Course
Lee 2007, 76 people, sham-controlled LED 633 nm, 830 nm or both Not on the abstract page 2 a week 4 weeks
Wunsch 2014, 113 randomised Red or broadband light units 611 to 650 nm, or 570 to 850 nm About 9 J/cm² of red, 12 to 25 minutes 2 a week 30 sessions
Mota 2023, 137 women LED 660 or 590 nm 3.8 J/cm² About 2 to 3 a week 10 sessions over 4 weeks
Couturaud 2023, 20 people LED mask 630 nm 15.6 J/cm², 12 minutes 2 a week, 72 hours apart 12 weeks
Ablon 2018, 48 people Microneedling pen 0.5 to 1.5 mm by area Not applicable Every 30 days 4 sessions
NHS scar clinic Microneedling for scars Not stated Not stated At least 6 weeks apart 4 to 6 sessions

The scar clinic figures come from a London hospital leaflet. Chelsea and Westminster NHS The AAD says microneedling results take several months, with a top-up about once a year.

Light is slower and steadier. Harvard Health says devices "must be used multiple times a week for four to six months." Harvard Health, 2025 First changes tend to appear around week 4, with a fair judgement at weeks 8 to 12; see how long red light therapy takes to work.

How much pain and downtime does each involve?

Microneedling usually means some discomfort during the session and a few days of redness afterwards. Red light makes no wound, so there is no downtime.

  • Redness and swelling: Cleveland Clinic says skin "might be red and swollen for up to five days", with possible burning, tightness and flaking.
  • Pain: in the 48-person study, average pain during treatment was 5.2 out of 10, and 85% had no pain by day 4.
  • Cold sores: the same study recorded 8 outbreaks, mostly in people with a history of them.

Cleveland Clinic advises calling the provider for bleeding beyond 24 hours, blistering, or swelling beyond a week. For red light, the AAD lists temporary pain or irritation as the usual mild side effects.

Can you use red light therapy after microneedling, and how long should you wait?

Not on the day: wait until the pinpoint marks have closed and the skin no longer stings, which for most people is 24 to 72 hours, and follow any longer window your provider gives. Then restart gently with the red mode at the lowest brightness for 10 minutes, every other day.

Freshly needled skin is broken skin, and our precautions rule out light on broken or bleeding skin. Some clinics apply LED in the treatment room straight after a session; that is the clinician's decision on skin they are watching, not a home routine.

Healthline's aftercare guide keeps saunas, heavy sweating and hard workouts off for about 72 hours. Healthline, 2023 A light session brings gentle warmth, so the same window is the sensible one. It is too soon if any area is open, weeping or crusted, if the skin stings when touched, or if your practitioner has told you to wait.

Stop if the skin stings during a session, and keep the blue mode off recovering skin. These settings are a cautious starting point based on healing times; the full plan is in our red light after microneedling guide.

Can you keep using a red light mask before and between microneedling sessions?

Yes: there is no reason to stop a mask routine in the days before a session, but tell whoever does the procedure that you use one. Between sessions, light fills the weeks when the skin has healed.

Before a session, providers mainly ask about the sun: the AAD says to wait with a current tan or recent sunburn. A calendar for sessions 4 to 6 weeks apart:

  • Days before: your usual mask routine.
  • Treatment day to about day 3: no light until the marks have closed and the skin no longer stings.
  • Restart: red mode, 50% brightness, 10 minutes, every other day.
  • Rest of the gap: build back to your normal routine within the manual's limits.

Use light first on bare skin, then serums and moisturiser. Bring retinoids back on the clinic's schedule, one change at a time, light first.

Are at-home dermarollers as good as clinic microneedling?

No: the AAD says home microneedling products are not meant to puncture the skin and give less noticeable results than a dermatologist's treatment. Yale Medicine puts home rollers at about 0.25 mm deep, against 2 to 3 mm for professional devices.

A Mayo Clinic Health System dermatologist notes that consumer rollers "won't deliver the same effects as a professional" and can contact the skin at several angles. Mayo Clinic Health System, 2019

The AAD lists irritation from overuse, infection or scarring from accidental piercing, spreading warts or herpes, and scarring or colour changes from pressing too hard. If you want microneedling, choose a licensed provider using sterile, single-use needles. A home light routine breaks no skin.

Which is better for darker skin, and who should wait?

Microneedling uses no heat, and the AAD and Cleveland Clinic describe it as suitable for darker skin tones, though dark marks after treatment can still occur. With red light, the AAD advises talking to a dermatologist first if you have darker skin, and Harvard suggests starting with lower doses.

For a mask, start at the lowest brightness and a short timer. Anyone prone to melasma should use the red mode rather than the blue mode.

Official sources say to wait or talk to a provider before microneedling with:

  • Isotretinoin: the AAD says "at least one month" must pass after the last pill.
  • Active skin problems: painful or deep pimples, a skin infection, or a cold sore.
  • Healing problems: keloid scarring, slow healing, blood thinners or a weakened immune system.

Our precautions rule out the mask during pregnancy, with epilepsy, a thyroid condition or thyroid medication, or broken skin on the area. Some acne medicines and antibiotics make skin more sensitive to light, and our precautions rule out photosensitising medication, so check with your pharmacist or doctor before using the device.

How do you use the Kivorla mask alongside microneedling?

Use the red mode on clean, dry skin between clinic sessions, starting at 50% brightness on the 10-minute timer, two to four times a week. After a session, wait for closed, non-stinging skin, then restart at the lowest brightness every other day.

The 4-Wavelength Red Light Therapy Mask is a cordless, full-face silicone shell with an eye opening and no diodes over the eyes. Its red mode combines 665 nm red with 850 and 1064 nm near-infrared; its blue mode combines 460 nm blue with 850 nm.

  • Settings: brightness 50, 70 or 90%; timer 5, 10 or 15 minutes, and it switches off by itself when the timer ends.
  • Weekly limits: 10-minute sessions up to 4 times a week at high brightness, or 15-minute sessions up to 3 times a week after a week of three 10-minute sessions. Never more than 20 minutes a day.
  • Gentler start: 5 minutes for reactive or darker skin.
  • Controls: voice or the handheld controller with a colour screen.
  • Eyes: keep them closed and do not stare into the light.
  • Tracking: photos in the same light at weeks 0, 4, 8 and 12.

Standard shipping to the US, UK and Germany is free. Read the precautions before ordering. Under our return and refund policy, returns are accepted within 30 days: an unopened device with its seals intact is refunded less a 10% restocking fee, and an opened device that is undamaged and complete is refunded less 20%.

Kivorla devices are general wellness devices, not medical devices, and are not a replacement for microneedling or other clinic treatments. Follow the aftercare instructions from the person who performed your procedure, and see a dermatologist about deep scars or skin that is slow to heal.

Back to blog