Red Light Therapy After Chemical Peel: When Your Skin Is Ready
You can use red light therapy after chemical peel treatments once the peeled skin has healed, nothing is left on it, and the person who did your peel agrees. Healing time depends on depth, from 1 to 7 days for a light peel to 14 to 21 days for a deep one. Below: timing, readiness, the research, red vs blue, acid peels, dermaplaning, darker skin and a gentle mask routine.
Key takeaways
- The American Academy of Dermatology gives healing times of 1 to 7 days for a light peel, 7 to 14 days for a medium peel and 14 to 21 days for a deep peel. AAD
- In a split-face pilot of 10 people, 635 nm LED light started straight after fractional CO2 laser cleared redness faster, with a significant difference from day 4. Oh, 2013
- A 2025 consensus of 21 skin and light experts agreed that photobiomodulation "can accelerate wound healing". Maghfour, 2025
- Mayo Clinic says dark patches are more common after superficial peels and in people with brown or black skin. Mayo Clinic
- After dermaplaning, skin is typically red and may feel irritated or itchy for a day or two. Ohio State Wexner
When can you start red light therapy after chemical peel treatments?
Once the treated skin has fully healed and your provider agrees, because freshly peeled skin counts as broken skin until it has re-formed. The AAD puts healing at 1 to 7 days for a light peel, 7 to 14 days for a medium peel and 14 to 21 days for a deep peel AAD.
No official source sets a separate waiting time for LED light after a peel. Your peel's healing time and your provider's instructions set the pace.
| Peel depth | Healing time (AAD) | What the skin does | Red light |
|---|---|---|---|
| Light (superficial) | 1 to 7 days | Redness, then scaling for 3 to 7 days | Once scaling has finished and nothing stings |
| Medium | 7 to 14 days | Swelling worsens for 48 hours; blisters can form and break; skin crusts and peels | Only when fully healed and your provider agrees |
| Deep | 14 to 21 days | Bandaged; recovery at home for 2 to 3 weeks; no sun for 3 to 6 months | Only when fully healed and your provider agrees |
Mayo Clinic gives similar ranges and says the new skin is "temporarily more sensitive to the sun", so talk with your doctor about how long to protect it. Mayo Clinic
For other clinic treatments, see red light therapy after microneedling, Botox, fillers and peels.
Can you use a red light mask while your skin is still peeling or flaking?
No. Peeling, flaking and crusting are part of healing, and our precautions rule out use on broken skin, so wait until the flaking has finished and nothing stings.
The AAD warns: "Rubbing or scratching skin treated with a chemical peel can cause an infection." AAD It adds that skin which dries and cracks can scar. Keep a silicone mask off loose flakes and let them come away on their own.
Pink is not the same as raw: Mayo Clinic notes redness after a medium or deep peel "might last for months", yet fully re-formed pink skin is intact. If unsure, ask your provider.
How can you tell your skin is ready for the first red light session?
Your skin is ready when the healing period for your peel has passed, nothing is raw, flaking or crusted, and nothing stings when you touch it. Your provider's go-ahead matters most after a medium or deep peel.
- Intact: no flakes, crusts, blisters, weeping areas or nicks, and no active cold sore. Mayo Clinic lists cold sore flares among the risks of a peel.
- Calm: no stinging, burning or itching when you touch the skin or apply your usual moisturiser.
- Bare: no peel solution, acid, retinoid, ointment or medicated cream left on; skin clean and fully dry.
- Cleared: your provider has cleared normal skincare, and any soaks or no-touch instructions are finished.
- Cool: not straight after a hot shower, bath or sauna.
If you take any medicine, including an antiviral after a medium or deep peel, note that our precautions rule out photosensitising medication, so check with your pharmacist or doctor before using the device.
Does red light therapy help skin recover after a peel?
The closest evidence comes from clinic studies of LED light after laser resurfacing, where light started on the day of treatment helped early redness settle faster. A 2025 expert consensus agreed that photobiomodulation "can accelerate wound healing" Maghfour, 2025.
In a Korean split-face pilot, 10 people had 635 nm LED light on half the face straight after fractional CO2 laser, then daily for seven days. Oh, 2013 Redness cleared faster on the LED side, significantly so from day 4.
In another split-face study, 20 people had one 590 nm LED session after non-ablative fractional laser. Alster, 2009 The treated side was "less erythematous in all 20 patients 24 hours postoperatively". By 96 hours both sides looked the same, so the effect is early and modest.
A 2018 review of 31 randomised trials rated the LED evidence for acute wound healing at grade B. Jagdeo, 2018 Dermatologists also use red light in the clinic alongside peels, and the AAD says "your dermatologist may recommend using an at-home red-light device" to help maintain results. AAD, 2024
These studies started in a clinic on the day of treatment. At home, a routine starts once the skin has healed.
What light settings did the resurfacing and sensitive skin studies use?
The post-laser studies used 590 to 635 nm LED light, started on the day of treatment, from a single session to daily for a week. A sensitive skin pilot used about 630 nm for 3 minutes twice a week, on intact skin.
| Study | Skin | Light | Dose and time | Schedule | Main result |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Oh, 2013 | 10 people after fractional CO2 laser | 635 nm LED | Not reported | Day 0, then daily for 7 days | Redness cleared faster from day 4 |
| Alster, 2009 | 20 people after non-ablative fractional laser | 590 nm LED | Not reported | One session, day 0 | Less redness at 24 hours in all 20 |
| Sonbol, 2020 (no control group) | 30 adults with intact sensitive skin | About 630 nm LED at 10 cm | 7 J/cm², 3 minutes | Twice a week, up to 8 weeks | 28 of 30 reached a 60% fall in symptom score |
| Abe, 2019 (lab) | Pig skin with its barrier stripped | Red above 600 nm | 40 mW/cm², 10 or 60 minutes | Single exposure | Barrier recovered faster; blue and purple did not help |
These doses do not convert into a mask session; on newly healed skin, stay gentle with the lowest brightness and shortest timer. Our red light therapy for sensitive skin article covers the sensitive skin pilot in detail.
Why use the red mode and not the blue mode on freshly peeled skin?
Skin recovering from a peel is more prone to dark marks, and in a study of healthy volunteers blue-violet light darkened skin while red light did not. Start with the red mode and leave the blue mode for later, on fully settled skin.
Cleveland Clinic says darker skin tones carry a greater risk of dark marks after inflammation. Cleveland Clinic A 2020 review of visible light in skin medicine reports two relevant studies. Photochem Photobiol Sci, 2020
- Blue-violet vs red: 415 nm blue-violet LED light caused pigmentation that rose with dose; 630 nm red light did not (Duteil, 2014).
- Darker skin: in 22 volunteers, visible light caused darker, longer-lasting pigmentation than UVA1 in skin types IV to VI, and none in type II (Mahmoud, 2010).
Our mask's blue mode uses 460 nm, at the long end of the blue band. If you want it for breakouts, add it later on settled skin and count blue and red sessions together towards the weekly limits. Anyone prone to melasma or dark marks should stay with the red mode; see red light therapy for hyperpigmentation.
Can you use red light the same night as an at-home peel or acid pads?
Yes, as long as the acid is never on your skin under the mask: light first on clean, dry, bare skin, then the acid afterwards only if the skin feels calm. When you start, putting acids and light on different evenings is the gentler choice.
Home peels and pads use alpha or beta hydroxy acids. The AAD advises against exfoliating over cuts, wounds or sunburn, warns that retinoids, retinol and benzoyl peroxide can make skin "more sensitive or peel", and says "Be careful not to over-exfoliate". AAD If a stronger home peel leaves you flaking, treat it like a light peel and wait until the flaking has finished.
Our guide to red light therapy before or after skincare sets out the order: light on bare skin, then serum, moisturiser and, in the morning, sunscreen. For makeup with the mask, see red light mask with makeup or sunscreen.
How soon can you use red light therapy after dermaplaning?
Once any redness, itching or irritation has settled and any small nick has closed, and your provider's aftercare allows it. Ohio State describes skin as typically red or irritated for a day or two after the treatment.
Dermaplaning uses a sterile blade to remove "just the top layer of skin" and fine hair. Ohio State Wexner Its aftercare: a mild cleanser; no retinol, glycolic acid, benzoyl peroxide or astringents for a while; sunscreen; no "excessive heat, such as saunas"; and at least a month between treatments.
Cleveland Clinic says dermaplaning lightly disrupts the skin barrier, so irritation can last "a day or so", and nicks carry a risk of infection. Cleveland Clinic, 2022
Red light therapy after dermaplaning follows the same steps as after a peel: calm, clean, dry skin, the red mode, the lowest brightness and a short timer, starting with cool skin. If a peel followed the dermaplaning in the same appointment, go by the peel's healing time.
Is red light after a peel safe for darker skin?
It can be, with extra care: the AAD says people with darker skin tones are more sensitive to visible light AAD, 2024, so talk to a dermatologist first. Use the red mode only, at the lowest brightness and the shortest timer.
The AAD adds that dark spots on darker skin can be "more intense and long-lasting". Its peel guidance says skin of colour can safely be peeled by a dermatologist experienced in darker skin; otherwise people "can develop permanent pigment problems." AAD
Take photos in the same light every 2 weeks, and pause and contact your dermatologist if new dark marks appear. The AAD also notes that a light-sensitive condition such as lupus can worsen with red light.
Can you use red light between repeat peels, or before your next one?
Yes, on fully healed skin between peels, within the mask's normal weekly limits, pausing again for each peel's healing period. Before a peel, follow the clinic's preparation and tell them you use a light mask.
The AAD says light peels may need 3 to 5 sessions, every 2 to 5 weeks. The ASDS gives one to four week intervals for light peels and 6 to 12 months for medium peels. ASDS
Before a peel, Cleveland Clinic advises avoiding tanning and direct sun for 2 weeks and stopping retinoids such as tretinoin 1 to 2 weeks beforehand unless your doctor says otherwise. Tretinoin goes back on at the clinic's pace, after the light session.
Mayo Clinic lists isotretinoin in the past six months as a reason a peel may not suit you, and Cleveland Clinic lists isotretinoin and lithium among medicines that make LED treatment unsuitable. Cleveland Clinic, 2021 If you take either, speak to your doctor first.
How do you use the Kivorla mask after a peel or dermaplaning?
Start in the red mode at 50% brightness with the 5 or 10 minute timer, every other day, on clean, dry, healed skin. This is a cautious starting point built from official healing guidance, not a protocol from a trial.
The 4-Wavelength Red Light Therapy Mask is a cordless, full-face silicone shell with an eye opening and no diodes over the eyes. Its red mode combines 665 nm red with 850 and 1064 nm near-infrared; its blue mode combines 460 nm blue with 850 nm. You set brightness (50, 70 or 90%) and the timer (5, 10 or 15 minutes) with the handheld controller or by voice, and it switches off by itself.
- Fit: adjust the strap so the mask rests lightly, without sliding it over tender skin. Eyes closed; never look into the light.
- Afterwards: your provider's moisturiser, then SPF 30 or higher when going outdoors. Red light contains no UV and gives no protection from it.
- Build up: 70% then 90%, and 10 then 15 minutes, only while any pink flush fades within the hour.
- Limits: the manual allows 10 minutes up to 4 times a week at high brightness, or 15 minutes up to 3 times a week after three 10-minute sessions the week before; never more than 20 minutes a day.
- Clean: a damp microfibre cloth, with no abrasive or strong cleaning agents.
Stop and contact your provider if the skin stings or burns, redness lasts for hours, or a rash or new dark marks appear. The AAD advises calling your dermatologist if peeled skin burns, itches or swells. See what to do after red light therapy.
Read the precautions before ordering: the mask is not for use in pregnancy, with epilepsy, a thyroid condition or thyroid medication, photosensitising medication, or on broken skin. Standard shipping to the US, UK and Germany is free. Under our return and refund policy, returns are accepted within 30 days: an unopened device with its seals intact is refunded less a 10% restocking fee, and an opened device that is undamaged and complete is refunded less 20%.
Kivorla devices are general wellness devices, not medical devices, and are not intended to treat any skin condition or to speed healing after a procedure. Follow the aftercare from whoever did your peel or dermaplaning, and ask them or your doctor before using light on recently treated skin.