Woman in goggles and workout clothes standing on a sunny porch beside the Kivorla red light therapy panel

Red Light Therapy for Sunburn: Before and After Sun Exposure

Red light therapy is not a sunburn treatment: the research on red light and sunburn looks at sessions given before sun exposure, not after. Red and near-infrared light contain no ultraviolet, so they cannot tan or burn you the way the sun does, but a burn you already have needs standard cooling and moisturising care, and blistered or broken skin should not have a light session at all. Below: the pre-sun studies, sunburn first aid, when to restart, and how to fit the Kivorla mask or panel around a day in the sun.

Key takeaways

  • Red and near-infrared light contain no ultraviolet, so a red light session cannot tan you or give you a sunburn. Cleveland Clinic
  • In a 2008 pilot of 15 people, 660 nm LED sessions given before a measured UV dose left the treated skin markedly less red a day later, on at least one test, in 85% of them. Lasers in Surgery and Medicine, 2008
  • The Kivorla panel manual recommends not using the panel if you have had sunburn anywhere on your body in the past 2 weeks.
  • For a sunburn you already have, the NHS advises cooling the skin, using aftersun or an unperfumed moisturiser, drinking water and taking painkillers. NHS
  • Red light is not sun protection, and the AAD still advises a broad-spectrum, water-resistant sunscreen of SPF 30 or higher outdoors. AAD, 2025

Can you use red light therapy on a sunburn?

Not on the burnt area while it is hot, red, sore or blistered. Follow sunburn first aid, let the skin settle, and then go back to your usual sessions.

Our article on red light therapy and tanning puts it in four words: leave burned skin alone. A session on calm skin after a day outdoors is fine. Skin that is hot, red or sore should settle first. With the mask, a face that did not burn can be used as normal. The panel manual is stricter: it recommends not using the panel at all for 2 weeks after any sunburn on the body.

The light itself adds no UV. Cleveland Clinic notes that, unlike UV from the sun or tanning booths, red light therapy does not use ultraviolet. Cleveland Clinic

What does the research on red light before sun exposure show?

A small pilot found that a series of 660 nm LED sessions before a measured UV dose reduced next-day redness, and animal studies point the same way. The effect was on redness from a lab dose of UV, on a small patch of skin.

  • Who: 13 healthy volunteers and 2 people with polymorphous light eruption, a sun-sensitivity rash.
  • Light: pulsed 660 nm LED on a thigh patch, with an untreated patch on the same person for comparison.
  • Test: after 5, 6 or 10 sessions, both patches received a measured UV dose, and redness was read 24 hours later.
  • Result: a cut in redness of more than 50% counted as a response, and 85% of participants had one on at least one test. Lasers in Surgery and Medicine, 2008

A conference report gives the settings: 50 mW/cm² for about 3 minutes, or 4.5 J/cm² per session. MDedge, 2007 Ten sessions in one week gave the best result.

The authors also reported less post-inflammatory darkening and described an "SPF-15-like effect". That phrase is theirs. The study measured redness only, under lamp UV, not tanning or DNA damage. It was a small, open study, and a larger controlled trial would be the next step.

  • Red light in mice: 630 nm LED for 30 minutes twice a day for 5 days before UVB led to less skin thickening and fewer inflammatory cells. Cho, 2024
  • Near-infrared in mice: 830 to 1,400 nm light given 3 hours before UVB helped skin clear UV-damaged cells. At 24 hours in one strain, 21.1% of cells were damaged with UVB alone, against 12.9% to 15.1% with near-infrared first. Okazaki, 2022

A 2016 review argues that near-infrared at sunlight-like doses may act as a "precondition to the skin" before UV. Barolet, 2016 It is a hypothesis paper, not a trial.

What settings did the sunburn and burn studies use?

The pre-sun studies used short, repeated sessions before the UV, and the human pilot used about 3 minutes of 660 nm light per session. The hospital studies used light on other kinds of skin damage.

Study Light Dose or minutes Sessions Timing
Pilot, 2008 (15 people) 660 nm pulsed LED 50 mW/cm², 4.5 J/cm², about 3 minutes 5, 6 or 10; best was 10 in 1 week Before UV
Mice, 2024 (5 per group) 630 nm LED 30 minutes, twice a day 5 days Before UVB
Mice, 2022 (3 per group) 830 to 1,400 nm near-infrared 135 to 720 J/cm² 1 3 hours before UVB
Mice, 1992 Infrared Warmed skin to 37 to 42°C Not stated Before UVB helped; after UVB did not
Radiotherapy trial, 2018 (120 people) 808 and 905 nm clinic laser 4 J/cm², about 7 to 12 minutes Twice a week, 14 sessions, about 7 weeks From day 1, to prevent skin reactions
Burns unit, 2013 (11 men) 830 nm LED Not reported Not reported After a facial burn, in hospital
Man grinding coffee in his kitchen while wearing the white Kivorla red light therapy mask

The common thread is timing. Every study that found a benefit against UV gave the light first.

Does red light after sun exposure help a sunburn heal faster?

That has not been shown in people, and in mice, infrared given after UVB did not change sunburn cells. The closest human data on light and burn-like skin come from hospitals.

Mayo Clinic says sunburn care "doesn't heal your skin, but it can ease pain, swelling and discomfort." Mayo Clinic The NHS says sunburn usually gets better within 7 days. NHS

  • Burns unit: 11 men with superficial second-degree facial burns had 830 nm LED on half the face. The treated side healed in 8.1 days on average, against 9.1 days on the covered side, with no statistical test reported. J Korean Burn Soc, 2013
  • Radiotherapy: in a placebo-controlled trial of 120 people with breast cancer, light given from day 1 cut moderate or worse skin reactions to 6.7%, against 30% with placebo. Robijns, 2018
  • Guidelines: an international MASCC panel recommends photobiomodulation to prevent radiation skin reactions in breast cancer. MASCC, 2023

These are clinic treatments under medical care, not a home protocol for a fresh sunburn. Long-term sun damage, such as fine lines and uneven tone, is a separate question, covered in red light therapy for skin over 50.

What should you do for a sunburn in the first 24 to 72 hours?

Get out of the sun, cool the skin, moisturise, drink water and take painkillers if you need them. Redness and pain usually peak at about 24 hours.

  • Cool: a cool shower, bath or damp towel. NHS Mayo Clinic suggests about 10 minutes at a time, several times a day.
  • Moisturise: aftersun or an unperfumed moisturiser. The AAD suggests aloe vera or soy while the skin is still damp. AAD, 2024
  • Painkillers and water: the AAD mentions aspirin or ibuprofen, and extra water.
  • Avoid: petroleum jelly, ice, popping blisters, peeling the skin, tight clothing and more sun.

The NHS advises an urgent GP appointment or a call to 111 if the skin is blistered or swollen, if you feel hot, cold, shivery, dizzy or sick, or if a baby or young child is sunburnt. Cleveland Clinic adds blisters over more than 20% of the body and a fever above 102°F (39°C) as reasons for immediate care. Cleveland Clinic, 2023

Is near-infrared warmth a problem on freshly burnt skin?

It is best kept off a fresh burn. First aid for any burn is about taking heat out of the skin, and near-infrared is the part of a session you feel as warmth.

For heat burns, the NHS advises cool running water for 20 minutes. NHS, burns and scalds In the 1992 mouse study, infrared raised the skin surface to 37 to 42°C. Both Kivorla mask modes include 850 nm near-infrared, and the panel's front surface stays at or below 40°C.

So the order is cool first, light later. This is common sense built on burn first aid rather than a trial result.

When is sunburnt skin ready for red light again?

For the panel, wait 2 weeks after any sunburn, as its manual recommends. For the mask, wait until the skin is no longer hot, red or sore and any blisters or raw patches have fully closed.

Cleveland Clinic says a first-degree sunburn heals in a few days to a week, while a blistered second-degree burn can take weeks. Cleveland Clinic, 2023

  • Blisters: the AAD says "Blistering skin means you have a second-degree sunburn." AAD, 2024 Leave blisters intact.
  • Broken skin: our precautions rule out sessions over broken skin, an open wound or a skin injury on the treatment area. Blisters, raw patches and weeping skin all count.
  • Peeling: the NHS says not to pull off peeling skin. Once the new skin underneath is intact and calm, a gentle restart is reasonable.
  • First session back: low settings, a short time, and stop if the skin stings or reddens.

Can red light help dark marks after a sunburn on darker skin?

Use red and near-infrared only, without blue, start low, and speak to a dermatologist first. Darker skin tones are more sensitive to visible light.

That is the AAD's reason for advising people with darker skin to talk with a dermatologist before starting. AAD, 2024 The NHS adds that sunburn can be hard to see on black or brown skin, so go by heat and soreness too. For lasting marks, see red light therapy for hyperpigmentation.

  • Mask: The red mode (665, 850 and 1064 nm) has no blue. The blue mode adds 460 nm blue, so keep it for breakouts.
  • Panel: turn the 480 nm blue channel down as far as it goes. Our precautions advise against using the panel on Fitzpatrick skin types V and VI.
  • Sunscreen: the AAD suggests tinted sunscreen, "particularly for people with darker skin tones".

What if you burned badly while taking antibiotics or a retinoid?

Speak to a pharmacist or doctor before any light session. A burn that is unusually severe, or that came after only a short time outdoors, can be a reaction to a medicine.

Cleveland Clinic lists some antibiotics, anti-inflammatory painkillers, retinoids and heart medicines as raising sun sensitivity. Cleveland Clinic, 2023 Mayo Clinic says severe sunburn after a short time in the sun may call for testing for sun sensitivity. Mayo Clinic Our precautions say not to use either Kivorla device with photosensitising medication, thyroid medication or a thyroid condition.

Do you still need sunscreen if you use red light before going out?

Yes. Red light adds no UV and blocks none, so a session before the sun is not a substitute for sunscreen, shade or clothing.

The pre-sun pilot measured redness on a thigh patch under lamp UV, not protection outdoors. As our article on whether red light therapy can cause cancer explains, UV is the real skin risk.

  • AAD: broad-spectrum, water-resistant, SPF 30 or higher, applied 15 minutes before going out and again about every two hours. AAD, 2025
  • NHS: at least SPF 30 with 4-star UVA protection, and shade from 11am to 3pm between March and October in the UK. NHS
  • Order: light session first on clean bare skin, then sunscreen, as our guide to a red light mask with makeup or sunscreen explains.

How do you use the Kivorla mask or panel around sun exposure?

Pause sessions after a burn, restart at low settings once the skin has settled (and after 2 weeks for the panel), and keep any pre-sun sessions short and dim on calm skin. The mask covers the face, and the panel reaches the neck, shoulders, back, arms and legs.

The 4-Wavelength Red Light Therapy Mask is a full-face silicone shell with an eye opening and no diodes over the eyes. The red mode is 665 nm red with 850 and 1064 nm near-infrared. The blue mode is 460 nm blue with 850 nm. Brightness runs at 50, 70 or 90%, and the timer at 5, 10 or 15 minutes.

  • Back after a burn: Red mode, 50% brightness, 5-minute timer, stepping up only while the skin stays calm.
  • Limits: 10 minutes up to 4 times a week at high brightness, or 15 minutes up to 3 times a week, and never more than 20 minutes in a day.

The 9-Spectrum Red Light Therapy Panel carries 480, 590, 630, 660, 670, 810, 830, 850 and 1060 nm, each dimmable from 1 to 100%. Its timer runs from 1 to 30 minutes and stops at 5 minutes if no time is set. For the shoulders and upper back, hang it at the right height on a door or wall; it ships with a door hook and pulley.

  • Back after a burn: wait 2 weeks after any sunburn, as the panel manual recommends, then stand at 12 inches, our distance for broad areas, dim the near-infrared channels and set a short timer.
  • Usual routine: 10 to 15 minutes per area, with at least 6 hours between 30-minute sessions.
  • Eyes: wear the supplied goggles every session.

To follow the 2008 pilot's pre-sun pattern, keep sessions short: it used about 3 minutes of 660 nm light at 50 mW/cm², 5 to 10 sessions, best as 10 in one week. On the panel, run the 660 nm channel, turn the others down as far as they go, step back to 12 inches and set the timer to a few minutes. On the mask, use the lowest settings, 50% brightness and the 5 minute timer, and keep within the manual's weekly limits. Only on calm skin, with sunscreen afterwards.

Standard shipping to the US, UK and Germany is free. Read the precautions before ordering. Under our return and refund policy, returns are accepted within 30 days: an unopened device with its seals intact is refunded less a 10% restocking fee, and an opened device that is undamaged and complete is refunded less 20%.

Kivorla devices are general wellness devices, not medical devices, and are not intended to treat sunburn. Do not use them on blistered or broken skin, and get medical advice for a severe or widespread burn, a burnt child, or a burn with fever or dizziness.

Back to blog