Red Light Therapy for Trigger Finger: What the Research Shows
Red light therapy for trigger finger is at an early stage of research: two single-patient reports describe pain falling to zero after a course of laser sessions, and a sham-controlled trial of 830 nm light added to a splint is now under way. The closest larger evidence comes from tendon studies, so light fits as an add-on to the splint, injection or surgery a hand specialist advises. Below: the studies, trial settings, where to aim, splints, injections, diabetes, surgery, warning signs and panel set-up.
Key takeaways
- A sham-controlled trial in Turkey aims to enrol 91 people and is testing 830 nm laser light added to a splint, 3 times a week for 4 weeks. NCT07753460, 2025
- In a 2014 case report, a woman with chronic trigger fingers had 15 laser sessions with massage and exercise, and her pain fell from 8 to 0 out of 10. Aranyavalai, 2014
- In a 2010 review of tendon trials, laser light left grip strength in tennis elbow 9.59 kg higher than control. Tumilty, 2010
- A steroid injection relieves the pain and triggering in about 70% of cases, according to an NHS hospital leaflet. Dudley Group NHS, 2025
- Trigger finger affects about 2% of people and is more common in women aged 40 to 60. AAOS OrthoInfo
Does red light therapy for trigger finger help?
The direct research is early: two case reports in which pain fell to zero, one completed NHS trial whose results were never published, and one sham-controlled trial still recruiting. The closest larger evidence comes from tendon conditions, so light is best seen as a supporting routine alongside a hand therapist's plan.
| Study | Who | Light | What was found |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kasim, 2022 | 1 woman, severe trigger finger | Low-energy laser on acupuncture points, 12 sessions | Pain fell from 6 to 0 out of 10 |
| Aranyavalai, 2014 | 1 woman, trigger fingers and carpal tunnel syndrome | Laser with massage and exercise, 15 sessions | Pain fell from 8 to 0 out of 10, still settled at 3 months |
| St Thomas' Hospital, London | Target of 90, including people with diabetes | Multi-wavelength clinic laser against splinting, 12 sessions | Completed; results not published |
| Dokuz Eylul University, Turkey | Target of 91 | 830 nm laser or sham, both with a splint, 12 sessions | Recruiting; no results yet |
The first case was a 51-year-old woman treated 3 times a week. Kasim, 2022 The second also had hand massage and supervised exercise, so the laser was one part of a wider programme. Aranyavalai, 2014 Single cases show what is possible, not what to expect.
The London hand therapy unit compared laser with 6 weeks of splinting, with separate groups for people with and without diabetes. ISRCTN, 2013 The Turkish trial measures pain, catches in 10 fists, grip and pulley thickness on ultrasound. NCT07753460, 2025 This matches our guide to red light therapy for hands and feet, which notes no finished trial for trigger finger yet.
What do doctors and hand therapists usually try first?
Most people start with rest from gripping, a splint and painkillers, then a steroid injection, with release surgery kept for fingers that do not settle.
The NHS notes that trigger finger "can sometimes get better on its own". NHS
- Activity: Mayo Clinic advises a break from repeated gripping and vibrating tools. Mayo Clinic
- Splint: worn for 3 to 12 weeks, 6 on average. Johnson, 2021
- Injection: a Cochrane review of 2 trials with 63 adults found that 3 people needed treating for one extra success at 4 weeks. Peters-Veluthamaningal, Cochrane
- Surgery: release through a small cut in the palm or with a needle tip, with success rates up to 99%.
- Other options: some hand specialists may also discuss shockwave therapy.
Ibuprofen and other anti-inflammatory tablets appear on lists of medicines that can make skin more sensitive to light. Our precautions rule out use with photosensitising medication, so anyone taking a medicine should check with their pharmacist or doctor before using the device.
What does the closest evidence, from tendon and wrist studies, show?
A 2010 review of 25 controlled tendon trials found that positive results clustered around recommended doses. At the wrist, laser has been studied most in de Quervain's, another condition where a tendon catches in its sheath.
The review described an "effective dosage window" close to published guidelines. Tumilty, 2010
- Tennis elbow: grip was 9.59 kg higher than control in the better-quality trials.
- Achilles: pain was 13.6 mm lower on a 100 mm scale.
- Light with exercise: in a 2021 meta-analysis in our tendonitis guide, pain fell 1.06 points more out of 10 than with sham.
A 2020 review of physical treatments for hand and wrist tendon sheath problems rated laser and ultrasound "the most used and effective" for de Quervain's. Ferrara, 2020
In a 2024 trial of 30 people with de Quervain's, 5 sessions of high-intensity 1064 nm laser over 3 weeks were compared with a guided steroid injection. Nikoo, 2024 Pain fell from about 8.5 to 1.73 with laser and 2.47 with injection at 3 months, and tendon thickness fell similarly. That was a high-power clinic laser at the wrist, not a panel.
What settings did low level laser therapy for trigger finger studies use?
The finger studies used 2 to 3 sessions a week for 4 to 6 weeks, mostly with near-infrared laser light held on the skin. The trial now running uses 830 nm at 4 J/cm².
| Study | Light | Dose | Sessions a week | Course |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| NCT07753460, trigger finger | 830 nm laser, continuous, 50 mW | 4 J/cm² | 3 | 4 weeks, with a splint |
| St Thomas', trigger finger | 660, 800, 905 and 970 nm clinic laser, pulsed | 6 to 8 J/cm², about 3 minutes | 2 | 6 weeks |
| Kasim 2022, trigger finger | Low-energy laser on acupuncture points | Not reported | 3 | 12 sessions |
| Aranyavalai 2014, trigger fingers | Laser, wavelength not reported | 2 J per tender point | 3 | 15 sessions |
| Nikoo 2024, de Quervain's | 1064 nm high-intensity laser | About 4 J/cm², 5 to 7 minutes | 1 to 2 | 3 weeks |
For a finger joint, the World Association for Laser Therapy suggests 4 J over 1 to 2 points, daily for two weeks or every other day for three to four weeks.
Laser joules at a point do not convert into a panel session; our guide to cold laser therapy vs red light therapy explains why. What carries over is the pattern: near-infrared around 800 to 850 nm, on bare skin over the base of the finger, 2 to 3 times a week for several weeks.
Where on the hand should the light go for trigger finger?
On the palm side, at the base of the affected finger, where the tendon passes through a tight band of tissue called the A1 pulley. So the palm faces the light.
AAOS OrthoInfo describes trigger finger as a size mismatch between the bending tendon and this pulley. AAOS OrthoInfo
- Trigger thumb: the pulley sits at the base of the thumb, on the palm side.
- More than one finger: Cleveland Clinic says "One in 3" people have it in more than one finger. Cleveland Clinic
Can you use red light alongside a trigger finger splint?
Yes, and the splint stays: in the sham-controlled trial now running, light is added to a splint worn for 4 weeks, not used instead of it. Never take off a splint your therapist has advised in order to use light.
In one study, a splint worn day and night for at least 6 weeks meant 87% needed no further treatment at 1 year. Johnson, 2021 With a night-only splint at the knuckle, 55% had settled after 6 weeks. The review also suggests tendon-gliding exercises 3 times a day.
Most trigger finger splints are worn at night, so daytime sessions fit around them. If yours is worn day and night, ask your hand therapist how light fits into the plan.
Can you use red light after a steroid injection in your finger?
Ask the clinician who gave the injection before adding light to that hand, and do not start right after it without their agreement. The 830 nm trial excluded people with a recent steroid injection.
Injections take time. The Dudley leaflet says improvement can take a few days to several weeks. Dudley Group NHS, 2025 Mayo Clinic says one is "often effective for more than a year". Mayo Clinic
- Skin: thinning or colour change at the injection site can occur occasionally, another reason to check with the clinician first.
- Insulin users: blood sugar may rise for about 10 to 14 days after an injection. AAOS OrthoInfo
Does diabetes or rheumatoid arthritis change the picture?
Both raise the chance of trigger finger, and injections tend to work less well with diabetes, so a hand specialist should plan care. Light can sit alongside that plan, with extra care for fingertips that may not feel warmth well.
Trigger finger affects 2 to 3% of people over a lifetime, and about "10% of diabetic population". 5-Minute Clinical Consult
- Carpal tunnel too: in diabetes, trigger finger often comes with carpal tunnel syndrome. MSD Manual See red light therapy for carpal tunnel for the wrist evidence.
- Numb fingertips: keep to about 6 inches and check the skin after each session.
- Rheumatoid arthritis: triggering is managed by the rheumatology and hand team. A flare means calling the specialist, and light does not replace disease-modifying treatment. Our arthritis guide covers the hand studies.
Can red light help after trigger finger release surgery?
Only once the wound has fully closed and your surgeon agrees, and never over stitches. After that, light on the healed palm can be part of a comfort routine during the months of recovery.
The Dudley leaflet advises light use of the hand from the same day and a dressing for 10 to 14 days. Dudley Group NHS, 2025 AAOS says swelling and stiffness can take 4 to 6 months to settle, with full recovery in about 6 months on average. A hand therapist can help if stiffness lingers. Our guide to red light therapy after surgery covers timing in more detail.
Should a trigger finger feel warm during a light session?
Gentle warmth is fine: the MSD Manual lists moist heat among the first measures for trigger finger. A light session is not a heat treatment, so warm is fine and hot means stop.
The panel's surface stays at or below 40°C. If the palm feels too warm, step back to 12 inches or dim the channels. Do not put light on a hot, red or swollen finger, which needs a doctor first.
When is a locked or swollen finger an emergency?
Get urgent care if you suddenly cannot move a finger, or if the whole finger is red, swollen and painful to straighten. Light is not for either situation.
Cleveland Clinic advises the emergency room if you "suddenly can't move or use one of your digits". Cleveland Clinic Infection of the tendon sheath can look like trigger finger at first. A 2019 report lists four warning signs: tenderness along the tendon, a finger resting slightly bent, pain when it is straightened, and sausage-like swelling, often after a cut, puncture or bite. Chan, 2019
All four signs together pick up 91 to 97% of cases. Only about 17% have a fever, so a normal temperature does not rule it out. It is a surgical emergency needing same-day care. A finger locked bent that will not straighten needs a hand specialist, and the NHS advises a GP visit if symptoms do not improve or stop daily activities. NHS
How do you use a Kivorla panel for trigger finger?
Rest the hand palm side toward the panel at about 6 inches, goggles on and eyes closed, and run the near-infrared channels for 10 to 15 minutes, 2 to 5 times a week. Judge it at 3 to 4 weeks against a simple log.
The 9-Spectrum Red Light Therapy Panel carries 480, 590, 630, 660, 670, 810, 830, 850 and 1060 nm, each dimmable from 1 to 100%. Its 810, 830 and 850 nm channels sit in the 800 to 850 nm band the finger trials used. The face mask is a full-face shell and is not designed for hands.
- Position: hang the panel on a door or wall with the included door hook, pulley, hanging cables and screws, or stand it upright on the floor. At 640 x 230 mm, about 25 x 9 inches, it covers both hands.
- Aim: palm open toward the light, so the base of the finger faces the panel, over clean, intact skin.
- Channels: 670, 810, 830 and 850 nm on; 630 and 660 nm optional; 480 and 590 nm at their lowest.
- Timer: 10 to 15 minutes. If no time is set, the panel stops at 5 minutes. Leave at least 6 hours between 30-minute sessions.
- Log: morning stiffness, pain out of 10, and the number of catches in 10 fists, a measure the trial uses.
The finger trials gave small doses at a single point. To stay closer to that range, use a shorter timer (it starts at 1 minute), turn the channels down from 100%, or step back to 12 inches. Never look into the panel.
Do not use the panel if you are pregnant, breastfeeding or preparing for pregnancy, have epilepsy or light-triggered seizures, have a thyroid condition or take thyroid medication, take photosensitising medication, have had sunburn on your body in the past 2 weeks, have broken skin on the hand, or have Fitzpatrick skin type V or VI. It is not for use while asleep. Goggles and a controller are included.
Standard shipping to the US, UK and Germany is free. Read the precautions before ordering. Under our return and refund policy, returns are accepted within 30 days: an unopened device with its seals intact is refunded less a 10% restocking fee, and an opened device that is undamaged and complete is refunded less 20%.
Kivorla devices are general wellness devices, not medical devices, and are not intended to treat trigger finger. See a GP or hand specialist for a diagnosis, get urgent care for a finger you suddenly cannot move or one that is hot and swollen, and keep any splint or treatment your hand therapist advises.